Skip to content

Living in the UK

Around 68 million people live in the UK. The UK is made up of England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

The UK reflects a multi-cultural, multi-faith society where all people should have their culture, faith and human rights respected. Cultural and religious differences, tolerance and fairness are important values.

People across the country practice and celebrate their beliefs or identity provided they respect the belief or identity of others and are not in conflict with UK laws.

More information about living here


The main language in the UK is English. Welsh is also widely used and taught in Wales and there are other recognised regional languages such as Scots Gaelic, Scots, and Irish/ Gaelic.

There are many different regional accents and dialects across the UK which sound vastly different. The Lincolnshire and Yorkshire accent is what you are most likely to hear while living here.

Religion and spirituality

There are churches of most denominations, mosques, synagogues, and other places of worship across South Yorkshire and North Lincolnshire.

Christianity is the main religion and festivals such as Christmas are widely celebrated. The second largest religion in the UK is Islam and around a quarter of the UK population practise no religion. People respect each other’s views, religion, and dress, even if it is different from what they are used to.

If you would like support in finding a place of worship for yourself, please speak to the international recruitment coordinator who will assist you.

You will also find more specific details around local places of worship in the local area guides provided to you upon arrival.

National currency

The UK national currency is pounds sterling. This is accepted in England, Wales, Northern Ireland, and Scotland. You will also find that most shops accept credit and debit cards via chip and pin and contactless payments using both cards and Wi-Fi enabled smart devices (Apple Pay, Android Pay).

Locations usually display signs in the windows telling you what cards are accepted. There are 100 pence (p) to the pound (£). Notes come in denominations of £5, £10, £20 and £50. Coins come in 1p (penny or pence), 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, £1 and £2.

The three most used emergency services in the UK are the police, fire service and emergency medical service. Other services available include mountain rescue, cave rescue, coastguard, and lifeboat. You must only ring the emergency services number in the case of a real emergency.

Healthcare and emergency services

999 emergency telephone number

Phone 999 in a case of an emergency when someone is seriously ill, their life is at risk or there is a fire or a situation where you require the coastguard or mountain/ cliff rescue.

This number should be used only when urgent attendance by the emergency services is required, for example someone is seriously ill or injured, or a crime is in progress.

111 NHS non-emergency telephone number

NHS 111 can help if you have an urgent medical problem and you are not sure what to do.

If you have a non-urgent medical enquiry or need advice on what you should do if you are feeling unwell (but where you do not feel it is an emergency), you should call 111.

A call handler will assess your requirement and direct you accordingly.

101 police non-emergency telephone number

Phone 101 when you want to contact the police, but it is not an emergency, for example an immediate response is not necessary and will not serve any purpose.